Random Thoughts

1) I have been thinking about what to blog a lot lately. Not that I am short of topics – I have got three blogs which are work-in-progress and will come up anytime soon. However, what beats me nowadays is that I have started thinking ‘What is the reader expecting from my blog?’ quite a lot. This realization has not dawned on me suddenly, but over a period of time. One reader who mails me about how the short story could have been treated differently, one friend who calls me and says that he loved the twist in the end, another reader who offers her perspective on some topics I have dealt with – I can go on and on. I cannot boast of a terrific readership (not as yet) – but my blog has around 1400 hits in a couple of months, which I feel is okish, but still a decent number of readers. Is it a problem of managing expectations? Hmm. It is all very well to say ‘Ah! don’t bother about your readers. You just enjoy your writing, readers would come anyways’, ‘This blog is yours, to let out your thoughts, not to cater to other’s interests and expectations’ and all such. I would have repeated the exact two lines I quoted above if you had come to me with this dilemma. And no, no writer’s block as such (that is such a oxymoron – writer’s block, eh? I mean, unless you have written reams and reams of stories and your imagination has dried up to such an extent – then say, I have got a writer’s block. Otherwise, it is pure laziness – not wanting to imagine, not wanting to write – put in literary terms (in an insulting way!)). I think it’s funny in a way- I know the problem (or do I?) and I know the solution (definitely do!) – so what exactly is my problem here? 🙂

2) Trust – I can dedicate a whole blog to this particular topic. I will, however, just deal with it in a few sentences here. Sometimes when people place so much trust in you, that they reveal their deepest, darkest secrets to you – I just go ‘whoa?! why did you even tell me that?’. Frankly, it feels more of a burden than happiness that they have trusted you with such a part of them. A colleague who had a baby very recently, comes up to me and talks about his ex and his current married life and how some of his baby’s features resemble his ex. A friend calls up and dumps all her feelings of how her honeymoon went sour etc etc. I can tell from their body language (shivering and their voice quivering) that they might be sharing it for the first time and didn’t know how to convey. These people are not my best friends (and I don’t think your best friends might even tell you about the above examples, even if they happen to them!) but colleagues, friends whom I hardly know. Yet they trust – for reasons totally unknown to me. Funny thing is, I don’t even know how to react when they come up with such things. I am like ‘Err…Oh…Why…mmm…Oh..yaa…mmm’. Totally dumbfounded.

3) Death of Yahoo messenger – How long has it been since you chatted through yahoo messenger? For me, it’s been more than a year now. After the advent of Gmail and Gtalk integration with Gmail – there was only one way yahoo messenger was going – down. However, I do have fond memories of using the yahoo IM. I still remember, I was so excited using all those emoticons in every other line when I first started. Friends’ lists, groups, group chats – it was all so much fun. When I look at Yahoo IM now, it’s more akin to a dilapidated building with all its structure but no life of its own. Most of my friends and colleagues are on Google IM, and they hardly (if ever) open Yahoo IM. Internet penetration, both in terms of access and cost along with Google’s brilliance has just spelt death knell for Yahoo IM. Yahoo IM is dead, Long live Yahoo IM!

2 comments so far

  1. Procrastinx on

    In spite of google’s brillaince , it has still got a lot of ground to cover. MSN , Yahoo and AOL are by far the dominant players in the IM market , with Skype catching up.
    http://www.comscore.com/press/release.asp?press=800

    GTalk is yet to figure in the discussions of dominant IM clients.

    So Yahoo is not dead yet. But anyways, Welcome to the world of Google 😉

  2. dkirand on

    @Procrastinx – Thanks for the link! Quite interesting info that 🙂 MSN, Yahoo, AOL, eh? Not too long I must say..and I guess the wink at the end said it all from a guy who is in that business 😉


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Subscribe to feed

